Duo Concertante

Released on May 17, 2017

for violin and piano

Related Videos


Duo Concertante began with a desire to write a piece for violin and piano that featured long notes and silences and ended with a three-movement, thirteen-minute work.

As a teenager, I had fallen in love with Stravinsky's Duo Concertant, which is also a violin/piano piece. I revisited Stravinsky's work only after mine was nearly complete. While Stravinsky’s music is much more complex, I was (pleasantly) surprised to find passages with similarities in rhythm, dissonance or mood. Obviously, his piece had long since settled into my subconscious.

In recognition of all I have learned from listening to Stravinsky, I decided to name this piece after his (but with a final"e" as that seems to be the more preferred spelling) and to dedicate it to him.

The movements are:

  1. 00:00 - Astraeus (god of dusk)
  2. 05:38 - Selene (moon goddess)
  3. 08:34 - Eos (goddess of dawn)